Jambalaya w/ Cauliflower Rice

A few years back, I made jambalaya from a box mix, and posted a picture on a cooking group on Facebook. A Cajun chef reached out to me and gave me some tips on how to make my own jambalaya. It quickly became one of my favorite dishes.

But once I started eating keto, I gave up jambalaya, as I don’t like cauliflower. After a few months, I broke down and got some cauliflower rice, but I had to rethink the recipe. Basically, with regular rice, you have to add moisture to cook the rice, but with cauliflower, you cook the moisture off, so the recipe is approached backwards, to a point.

This recipe is easily altered based on your personal tastes. I often add cooked chicken or shrimp, but you could add other meats, or vegetables, to your taste.

INGREDIENTS:

8 oz Andouille Sausage, sliced roughly 1/4” thick

1 medium yellow onion, diced

2 sweet bell peppers, diced

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

12 oz frozen cauliflower rice (or rice your own cauliflower)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat your skillet over medium heat, then add about 2 TBSP olive oil, and cook your andouille until nicely browned. Remove the sausage to drain on a paper towel.

2. Add chopped onion and peppers to skillet, lowering heat to medium low. Cook until onion softens and begins to brown. Don’t rush this, it could take up to 20 minutes.

3. Add minced garlic and cook for a couple minutes, careful not to burn.

4. Add andouille back to skillet, and stir in the cauliflower rice. Mix everything well.

5. Cook until cauliflower rice is soft and tender, around 10 minutes.

6. Salt and pepper to taste, and enjoy!

Serves 2-3.

NOTE – I will be sure to share a non-keto version of the jambalaya in the future.

Bible verse of the day:

“…put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭4:22-24‬ ‭ESV‬‬

Leave a comment